Glassing Receives AWWA Minnesota Leonard N. Thompson Award for Outstanding Service

AMERICAN Ductile Iron Pipe/AMERICAN SpiralWeld Pipe Sales Engineer Chris Glassing receives the Leonard N. Thompson Award from AWWA Minnesota Section Chair Chris Voeltz.

Congratulations to AMERICAN Ductile Iron Pipe/AMERICAN SpiralWeld Pipe Sales Engineer Chris Glassing on receiving the Leonard N. Thompson Award from the Minnesota Section of the American Water Works Association. Glassing was presented the award during the section’s annual conference on September 16, 2021.

The Leonard N. Thompson Award is presented annually to a Minnesota Section member who exemplifies outstanding service and contributions to the section and the water supply industry. The award was established by the North Central Section in remembrance of Thompson who worked at the St. Paul Water Utility from August 1912 until June 1964.

Glassing is a Minnesota native who began his career with AMERICAN in 1996 after earning a degree in mechanical engineering from the University of Minnesota Institute of Technology. At AMERICAN, his responsibilities include account management, sales, marketing, training, applications engineering and design of ductile iron and steel pipe for the water and wastewater industry. His territories include North Dakota, South Dakota, Minnesota, Wisconsin and the upper peninsula of Michigan.

Glassing has been actively involved in AWWA for many years, serving two terms on the Minnesota Section Governing Board, as chairman of the Training and Education Council and chairman of the Young Professionals Committee. He currently serves on the Manufacturers Associates Council, Scholarship Committee and as chairman of the Competitions Committee. Glassing’s previous recognitions by the AWWA Minnesota Section include Volunteer of the Year and the Benjamin G. Mason Award of Excellence, named in honor of AMERICAN retiree Benjamin Mason. Glassing also serves on the Minnesota Utility Contractors Association’s Board of Directors and was the 2020 recipient of MUCA’s Golden Backhoe Award.